Herman Hesse (1877 – 1962)

“…I do not consider myself less ignorant than most people. I have been and still am a seeker, but I have ceased to question stars and books; I have begun to listen to the teachings my blood whispers to me … ;

“…It’s good to realize that within us there is someone who knows everything, wills everything, does everything better than we ourselves … ;

“…I wanted only to try to live in accord with the promptings which came from my true self. Why was that so very difficult? … ;

“…There’s an immense difference between simply carrying the world within us and being aware of it … ;

“…If you hate a person, you hate something in him that is a part of yourself. What isn’t a part of us doesn’t disturb us … ;

“…The things we see are the same things that are within us. There is no reality except the one contained within us…;

“…I live in my dreams … other people live in dreams, but not their own. That’s the difference … ;

“…An enlightened man had but one duty – to seek the way to himself, to reach inner certainty, to grope his way forward, no matter where it lead … ;

“…Someone who seeks nothing but his own fate no longer has any companions, he stands quite alone and has only cold universal space around him…;

“…You are only afraid if you are not in harmony with yourself .. ;

“…Love must not entreat or demand. Love must have the strength to become certain within itself…. ”

Hermann Hesse, “Demian”

 

Quelle: Gret Widmann/Suhrkamp Verlag

Quelle: Gret Widmann/Suhrkamp Verlag

 

 

 

Leave a comment